European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecast

The European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) is an international organisation supported by 34 States: 20 Members (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom) and 14 Co-operating Members (Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Hungary, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, Morocco, Romania, Serbia and Slovakia).

ECMWF's principal objectives are the preparation, on a regular basis of medium-range and long-range weather forecasts for distribution to the meteorological services of the Member States; scientific and technical research directed to the improvement of these forecasts; the collection and storage of appropriate meteorological data. ECMWF's facility includes supercomputers, archiving systems and networks.